• mums club

    I see you all sitting there
    Babies in arms, a toddler or two on a chair
    Eating your sandwiches and drinking tea
    Have you even noticed me?
    You regale each other with your joys and woes
    I hear you talk of the runny nose,
    The bad sleep and the teething trouble
    I see you all in your parent bubble
    Laughing about things they say
    Taking delight in the games they play
    You talk of first steps, of how they are learning
    And all the while I sit there yearning
    Wishing I was in your group of chums
    I wish I was part of the gaggle of mums
    Who meet up in this café to chat
    About parenting, about this and that
    You are the friend group of which I dream
    And sometimes I just want to scream:
    Please please let me join you
    I am one of you, I have a son too
    I have many stories to share
    I can sympathise and show I care
    I have anecdotes which will make you smile
    Oh let me sit with you for a while.

    Maybe our kids could have a playdate someday
    We could go to the park or maybe soft play
    Playdates made of crafts and cooking
    Dressing up, dancing and singing
    Playing with toys and all sorts of fun
    Your kid could maybe be friends with my son.

    But wait, I am getting carried away
    You havent asked my son over to play,
    You haven't gathered me up in your midst
    I wonder if you know I exist.

    As you all get up to leave in harmony
    Towards the door, away from me
    I remain here in my reverie
    Hopes vanishing of what could be.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :